Payne Program University Affiliates

Payne Fellows can use their fellowships to attend any graduate program based in the United States once approved by the Payne Program. However, there are a number of graduate programs that have offered to provide additional financial assistance to the $22,000 for tuition and $16,000 for a stipend that is awarded per year.  Because the universities provide these benefits, students should work directly with the key contact at each university to confirm all aspects of this assistance.  The universities recommend that you indicate you are applying for the Payne Fellowship in your graduate school application.  Payne Fellows are not limited to attending these programs.  Other programs may also give additional financial aid on a case-by-case basis.  Other universities may be added to the current list.

Potential applicants can request a list of the universities and their offers by e-mailing the Payne Program at paynefellows@howard.edu.

Program or School Name University Key Contact
School of International Service American University Jia Jiang, Director of Graduate Enrollment Management
202-885-1689
jiang@american.edu
School of Public Affairs American University Jennifer Forney, Assistant Dean of Graduate Enrollment
202-885-6230
forney@american.edu
Heinz College of Information Systems and Public Policy Carnegie Mellon University David Eber, Director of Graduate Enrollment
412-268-3347
deber@cmu.edu
School of International and Public Affairs (SIPA) Columbia University Grace Han, Executive Director for Admissions and Financial Aid
212-854-4841
gh2122@columbia.edu
Cornell Institute for Public Affairs (CIPA)
Master of Public Administration (MPA)
Cornell University Thomas O’Toole, Executive Director
607-255-6668
tjo22@cornell.edu
Sanford School of Public Policy, Center for International Development
Master of International Development Policy
Duke University Cheryl Bailey, Assistant Director of Admissions
919-613-9281
cheryl.bailey@duke.edu
Master of Arts Program in International Development (IDMA) Gallaudet University Graduate School David Strom, Director of Graduate Admissions
david.strom@gallaudet.edu
Elliott School of International Affairs George Washington University Nicole Campbell, Director of Graduate Admissions
202-994-7050
esiagrad@gwu.edu
Edmund A. Walsh School of Foreign Service
Master of Science in Foreign Service (MSFS)
Georgetown University Ja’net DeFlorimonte, Director for Admissions
jd1794@georgetown.edu
Edmund A. Walsh School of Foreign Service
Master of Global Human Development (GHD)
Georgetown University Katie Li, Associate Director of Academic Programs, GHD
202-687-5060
ghdinfo@georgetown.edu
McCourt School of Public Policy Georgetown University Lindsey Monson, Assistant Director of Admissions
202-687-1247
lgm28@georgetown.edu
Harvard Kennedy School Harvard University Stephanie Streletz, Director of HKS Financial Services
617-496-9078
stephanie_streletz@hks.harvard.edu
Harvard T. H. Chan School of Public Health Harvard University Kathy Austin, Director of Financial Aid
617-432-1867
kaustin@hsph.harvard.edu
School of Public and Environmental Affairs (SPEA) Indiana University Michele L. Lersch, Associate Director of Admissions and Student Services
812-855-2840
msassano@indiana.edu
Paul H. Nitze School of Advanced International Studies Johns Hopkins University Karen N. Ohen, Director of Admissions
sais.dc.admissions@jhu.edu
Woodrow Wilson School Princeton University Sonya K. Smith, Director of Graduate Admissions
sonyas@princeton.edu
Department of Economics The Catholic University of America Debra Egan, Graduate Program Director, Integral Economic Development
202 319-6183
integral-development@cua.edu
Schools of Public Engagement The New School Merida Escandon Gasbarro, Director of Admission
212-229-5150 x 1108
escandom@newschool.edu
School of International Affairs The Pennsylvania State University Christie Persio, Director of Admissions
814-863-0788
admissions@sia.psu.edu
School of Public Policy The Pepperdine University Carson JF Bruno, Assistant Dean and Adjunct Lecturer
310-506-7492
carson.bruno@pepperdine.edu
The Fletcher School
Master of Arts in Law and Diplomacy
Tufts University Laurie Hurley, Associate Dean of Admissions and Financial Aid
617-627-2410
laurie.hurley@tufts.edu
Master of Development Practice University of California, Berkeley Lauren M. Krupa, Student Services Advisor
510-642-1462
lkrupa@berkeley.edu
Richard & Rhoda Goldman School of Public Policy University of California, Berkeley Lezley Hightower, Student Services Advisor – Admissions and Career Services
510-642-7888
lhightower@berkeley.edu
Josef Korbel School of International Studies University of Denver Daniel Doerr, Director of Graduate Enrollment
Daniel.Doerr@du.edu
Graduate School of Public and International Affairs University of Pittsburgh Michael Rizzi, Director of Student Services
412-648-7643
rizzim@pitt.edu
Frank Batten School of Leadership and Public Policy
Master of of Public Policy
University of Virginia Jeffrey L. Chidester, Executive Director of External Affairs
434-924-7330
jchidester@virginia.edu
School of Forestry and Environmental Studies Yale University Raymond Andreoli, Associate Director of Financial Aid
203-432-5105
raymond.andreoli@yale.edu